Do prescription medicines help with physical symptoms of quitting smoking?

I've been smoking a pack a day for three years and believe it's time to quit. It's hard, but I can handle the psychological problems. I'm having trouble with the physical symptoms....

I've been smoking a pack a day for three years and believe it's time to quit. It's hard, but I can handle the psychological problems. I'm having trouble with the physical symptoms. If I go 12 hours with a cigarette, I start getting nauseous and it just keeps getting worse. Smoking relieves it, but only for a few hours. I want to get off nicotine ASAP, so I'd prefer not to use the patch or gum.

I've seen that there are a couple of prescription quit-smoking drugs, Chantix and Zyban. How effective are they? Will they help with the nausea?

Jan C
Rating
I understand they help, but are expensive. Have you tried Smoke Away. It works quite well.

java_kingpin
Rating
Chantix is an excellent way to quit smoking with few side effects. For more Chantix information, click the following link: http://www.121doc.co.uk/affiliate/scripts/t.php?a_aid=fbb92383&a_bid=&desturl=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.121doc.com%2Fchampix.html

Brandi O
I know that the anti-depressant, Wellbutrin, is also prescribed to help you quit smoking. It actually makes you not want one and also helps with the psycolagical problems associated with quitting smoking. There is also a laser therapy that you can get for usually $100 or less that triggers a nerve in your earlobe to make you stop smoking. If your serious about quitting, talk to your doctor, it is definately possible!!

Patrick
Rating
"Chantix therapy has proven to be effective in smokers motivated to quit and will provide another tool for physicians to use for the millions of smokers who want to quit."

The effectiveness of Chantix in smoking cessation was demonstrated in six clinical trials, which included a total of 3659 chronic cigarette smokers who were treated with varenicline.