Why is it some people are skinny even without exercising? I even see them eat more than what I eat?

I am doing exercises and eat less but still overweight?...

I am doing exercises and eat less but still overweight?

jljdc
genetics and metabolism

Elizabeth B
Rating
Some people just have faster metabolisms. After about age 30, most people will get slower metabolisms if they are sedentary due to the loss of muscle.

What kinds of exercises are you doing? I am a personal trainer and tell my clients that in order to lose weight, they need to not only do at least 45 min. of strength training at least twice a week, but they need to do cardio 5-6 days a week (at least 30 minutes total but more is even better...even splitting it up throughout the day if you have to).

It is essential to mix things up. Don't walk the same route every day; do a day of hills, or a day of walking faster, or try running for a few minutes. Do the elliptical for 20 minutes and then get on the treadmill. Keep your body guessing so it does not plateau. Plateauing is a survival mechanism; the body figures out a way to do the same work more efficiently so it doesn't lose too much weight. Unfortunately, this happens to people who need or want to lose weight, which is one reason why people give up on exercise. Don't do this, though! Just do something different! Make your cardio more intense. Change things up frequently.

Keep in mind that the people on the weight loss reality shows work their butts off. They run, do the elliptical machine, walk fast up hills, etc. for at least an hour a day and then hit the weights as well.